Beethoven Piano Sonata op. 111, John Lill

Beethoven Piano Sonata op. 111, John Lill

When asked to choose his favourite Beethoven Piano Sonata, legendary pianist John Lill chose the last sonata, op. 111.  Two-movement structure Beethoven’s last piano sonata has only two movements (i. Maestoso, ii. Arietta) rather than the more typical three. Lill likens it to Schubert’s ‘Unfinished’ Symphony; both are utterly complete and substantial, particularly the second...
'On Beethoven'; interview with John Lill

‘On Beethoven’; interview with John Lill

When looking at one of Turner’s paintings, a lady asked the painter, ‘Why do you paint all those colours in the sky; when I look at the sky, I don’t see those colours’. ‘No Madam’, Turner replied, ‘but don’t you wish you could?’. The spiritual For the great pianist John Lill, Turner’s sense of going...
Jeffrey Siegel 'Keyboard Conversations': Chopin

Jeffrey Siegel ‘Keyboard Conversations’: Chopin

Jeffrey Siegel spoke and performed at Kings Place, bringing Chopin’s music alive with his anecdotes, analysis and interpretation. The second of his three-part series of ‘Keyboard Conversations’ are wonderfully designed to enhance the listener’s experience of the music, making it more focused and accessible. ‘Cat’ Waltz, op. 34 no. 3 Siegel told the charming (and...
Schubert's Sonata Form: analysis of Schubert's A minor Piano Sonata D.845

Schubert’s Sonata Form: analysis of Schubert’s A minor Piano Sonata D.845

Structure Schubert’s A minor piano sonata D.845 is in a fairly conventional sonata form though with an inverted sense of development and ambiguity over the beginning of the recapitulation. The structure can be seen to be as follows: Structure Bar Numbers Tonality Time code in video Exposition 1-90 A-C 0’’-2’ 13’’ First Subject 1-26 A...
Recomposed or refragmented? Baroque, Minimalist & Stravinskian sound worlds in Max Richter’s Recomposed Vivaldi

Recomposed or refragmented? Baroque, Minimalist & Stravinskian sound worlds in Max Richter’s Recomposed Vivaldi

Max Richter – a leading British composer – has just premiered his recomposed version of Vivaldi’s Four Seasons to exceptional critical acclaim. Richter describes how he sculpted his music from the original material, going back to the music itself rather than working with old recordings (as is the case with most recomposed versions), picking out...
My blog has recently been added to Blog Nation, which is part of one of the largest networks of blog directories on the Web. Please visit my blog's personal page to vote for my blog and comment to other blog users.

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox

Join other followers: